The Pet Industry's Leading Resource for News & Content Distribution

Comprised of over 450 members, the Dog Writers Association of America (DWAA) named the 2012 winners of their annual dog writing competition.  The ceremony was held at the Affinia Manhattan Hotel in New York City on Sunday, February 12, 2012.

Composed of authors, columnists, bloggers, broadcasters, and club publications, DWAA recognizes and awards dog writers during their annual banquet. The event is open to both members and non-members and is touted as a networking opportunity to meet others in the profession of dog writing.

Of note, Chicago-based newspaper columnist, Steve Dale, was honored as a 2011 Hall of Fame inductee. Dale is a board member of Angel on a Leash, the American Humane Society, Winn Feline Foundation, and is a radio talk show host, animal advocate, public speaker, and blogger.


There were several hundred submissions vying for the coveted Maxwell Medallion in a variety of categories. Categories were split into regular and specials, with the regular groupings encompassing newspapers, magazines, canine or all animal newspapers or newsletter, internet websites or blogs, graphics, humor/poetry/fiction, other media, national club publications, regional or local club publications, and books.  A complete list of winners may be found at

Special awards were given for categories including The Planet Dog Foundation Sit, Speak, Act Canine Service Award; the Eukanuba Canine Health Award and a host of others. Of note, the DWAA Distinguished Service Award was given to one member who “by word, deed, exemplary conduct, public communication and professional excellence, best promotes the interests of the sport of dogs.” Sponsored by the American Kennel Club, Debra J. White was selected as the winner of a plaque and a $1,000 cash grant.

For more information and to learn about joining DWAA, visit

Pin It on Pinterest